DACA does not require continuing education

October 28, 2012

A person I spoke with recently who is active in the Spanish-speaking community told me she has been advising people against applying for deferred action under Deferred Action for Childhood Applicants (DACA), because when they renew their work permits in two years they will have to show that they are still in school, even if they have graduated from high school. She said that is a concern because many people from “my culture” do not value education beyond high school. I disagreed with her about Hispanic youth not valuing higher education, and I also explained that they don’t have to still be enrolled in school when it’s time to renew the work permit unless they haven’t finished high school. She seemed to think DACA was forcing young people to go to college, but that’s not true, and, besides, today’s youth are already motivated to get as much education as possible.

Leave a comment