Surreal I-751 interview

May 17, 2014

Received from a man I prepared for his recent I-751 interview . . . .

Sam,

I just wanted to drop you an email and let you know that the green card was approved in under five minutes. It was a rather surreal experience. A guy came out (Officer G–) and called my name. I picked up my banker box of documentation and he said, “Wow, you brought a lot.” I said, “Well, I wanted to make sure I was prepared. I have another box in the car if we need it.” He chuckled and said something like, “I don’t think we’ll need it.” A little small talk while we walked down the hallway into his office. He closed the door, asked me to remain standing so I could swear an oath then said, “Do you promise or affirm to tell the truth?” I replied, “Yes.” We both sat down and he said, “Well I’ve looked through your paperwork and everything appears to be in order. I’m going to go ahead and
approve it. I just need to see your green card, passport, and driver’s license.” He reviewed my ID, compared them to his case file, asked me to confirm that my address and phone number were still the same (they are) and then said, “Well I think that does it.  I’m going to mail it back to D.C. and you should get your green card in the mail in about a month, sometimes it takes a little longer – 4-6 weeks . . .”.

http://www.immigration-solutions.com

Leave a comment